Gardening in the Blind


Starting Planting Season
March 14, 2011, 9:28 pm
Filed under: Garden Planning, Indoor Gardening, Seedlings

The snow is melting, the daylight is getting longer and my hands are aching to touch soil in lieu of snow.  It is right about time to start planting. 

My white shelves

This winter I found something terrible had happened.  During the summer our humidifier stopped working.   It was a couple of months before we realized it.  By that time I had mold on my shelves.  It took three weekends and I am almost finished de-molding my shelves and painting them with Kilz2.  It brings a smile to my face to see all the shelves white.  I know it is clear I have not used them like this.  Soon, they will be the color of soil and have green plants growing up from them. 

Next I organized all the planting items, got seed starter and realized I really needed to disinfect all items before planting in them.  So as my tallow is cooking down, lard is starting to work, my dishwasher is finally washing what I need to start my seeds.  It is only making me a week behind though.  Simple to catch up.

Newly planted seeds

After the round in the dishwasher, I took my “bucket” and filled it with the starter.  I then carried it back upstairs and added water.  Oh how my hands had been craving the opportunity to be covered with soil.  It made me smile ear to ear!  Mixing it until moist, I then filled each pot that I had washed packing it tightly.  Placing the seed on top it was placed on a tray on the heating pad.  Celery, Rosemary and Thyme to start, leaving room for the weeks to follow. 

Oh how I have missed the soil and seedlings and plants and sunlight and green stuff…Here is to another year!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

How exciting for you and for us who so enjoy your blog. It’s so much fun to watch everything grow through your pictures

Comment by Mom




Leave a comment