Gardening in the Blind


Forgotten Zucchini
September 4, 2011, 8:43 am
Filed under: Cooking/Canning/Drying, Squash

How did I miss this??

Zucchini has an uncanny ability to hide from sight.  This is why I grow the costa romana zucchini.  It doesn’t get mealy in texture when large.  But I was obviously not doing my job when I found this one!  I took the picture with Deron’s blackberry next to it so you could get an idea of just how big this zucchini was.  I did what any person would do.  I sat down and started grating.  I knew it froze nicely grated.  I like to keep it in packages of 3 cups as that is how much the zucchini bread recipe I use takes. 

After an hour of grating, I was finally finished with task.  I set aside two cups for a zucchini ginger cupcake recipe I found on epicurious, and froze two bags of three cups and one bag of 2 cups.  Wait, I’ll do the math for you.  That made 10 cups grated zucchini from just one.  Guess I need to poke around a bit more from now on!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

