Gardening in the Blind


What to do on a Thursday…
September 2, 2011, 8:38 pm
Filed under: Cooking/Canning/Drying, Tomatoes

Taking time to be a kid

This week, Deron chose to take some vacation time.  I decided that I was too burned out to work in the garden for the whole week, so we went to the Worcester Armory Museum.  This was the nicest break from working in the garden.  I have been literally swimming in tomatoes, especially cherry ones (ok not literally, but it feels like it!)  I have made pasta, got tomato tummy every time I work in the garden, oven dried with olive oil and rosemary on top ( ending with tomato tummy again, I really need self-control!) and then decided I still needed to do more as the cherry tomatoes in this war were winning.  I turned to the one place I knew I could count on.  My yahoo canning group.  It is so much more than just canning! 

I ended up filling my whole dehydrator with the cherry tomatoes, running it through the night.  Then I put it through the coffee grinder, which has been doing nothing but tomato skins since the start of the season and added to my tomato powder.  This would be a good time for me to place a memo to myself – easy on the cherry tomatoes next year.  It is insane!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

